Our Guide to Bootstrapping Your Business in 2023 |

Mar 14, 2023

There are several possible ways to conduct business. Each one is best. If you're among those business owners that can create a profitable business then congratulations regardless of how that you go about it.

However, there's another method for building a business that has gained a lot of attention: bootstrapping. Here at Mighty we are a big fan of bootstrapping, probably because we've watched creators start with a few enthusiastic members, and then grow to thriving, successful businesses doing between 5 and 6 figures each month.


The process of bootstrapping offers numerous advantages and can be a fantastic road to profitability. In this post, we're going to explain the concept of bootstrapping. We'll talk about the advantages and disadvantages of this method, and talk through what you need to learn to start bootstrapping your own business.


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What exactly is bootstrapping your business?


Bootstrapping means building a business to be profitable, without the need for external funds. In the current startup world, it's common for founders to do rounds of funding from venture capitalists and investors.


Bootstrappers aren't able to take out funds, and usually focus on keeping a low overhead and generating revenue fast in order to not need to accept this kind of funding.


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The benefits of bootstrapping your business


 

  • Ownership. When you take outside funding or venture capital, you give up the ownership. This is an option in certain situations, and to get a company off on its feet, particularly if the business needs funding. But the more people you have at the board, the more of them you must answer to. If you've got a company that is able to be bootstrapped, usually you can retain complete ownership.    
  • Control. It's not like we've mentioned it. However, bootstrapping allows you to the ability to control. It allows you to make choices that are not subject to external influences.    
  • Profitability. Bootstrapping is about making a business profitable as soon as it is feasible. It's a great way to build a business. If it fails, it fails fast. Many founders will take massive portions of cash from investors. They can go for years before realizing a venture isn't going anywhere.    


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Disadvantages of bootstrapping


 

  • There's less capital. It's obvious that if don't have any outside investors, you might not have the capital to get things off the start. Some founders will turn to borrowing, which does have its own place, however you're on the hook to pay for it.    
  • Less wisdom. In the ideal scenario, borrowing investment money isn't simply about surrendering the control. The investor will get the wisdom of experience at the table, advice and contacts. This is a huge benefit. It's why founders go to Dragon's Den (well... that and the TV exposure ).    
  • Timelines that are shorter. It is essential to build a company to profitability fast. You could be doing another job in order to have an roof over your head, while building your company.    


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Bootstrapping examples in the business


Here are some companies you see every day but you may not have known that were boot-strapped!


 

  • Apple: Founded by the Steves, Jobs and Wozniak, Apple started in Steve Jobs's garage in 1976 with a mission to make personal computers accessible to the masses.      
  • Meta -: Facebook has been a bootstrapped company until the time it was able to file for IPO on January 1, 2012, aiming for $5 billion.    
  • Atlassian The company was founded by Australia by two founding partners who each had an account with a credit limit of $10,000.    
  • KFC Harland Sanders started frying chicken in his cafe on the road with a secret receipt of 11 herbs and spices. Then he began franchising (and dressing like a historic colonel ).    
  • Plenty of Fish : A dating site that started as a free app created by Markus Frind and sold to Match for $575 million.      


Examples of Bootstrapping on Mighty


 

  • Yoga in collaboration with Adriene : Started with a YouTube channel founded by Adriene Mishler. The movement was able to grow to over 10 million subscribers and spun into two lucrative Yoga applications and a user base with 220,000 members.      
  • Wealth Builders Community : Launched by Ashley Fox, the movement gives financial advice to 99% of people Wall Street won't talk to - it made $100,000 in its first 2 weeks.      
  • Code Red : A 10 million dollar nutrition and weight loss venture founded in the name of Cristy "Code Red" Nickel.      


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The guide to the process of establishing your business


1. The focus should be on the ideal client


The best place for bootstrapping going to start is with an ideal client or avatar (similar to an Ideal Member for those beginning an online community). This is especially true in the economy of creators.


It is usually boiled in the form of:


 

  • Who is your Ideal Client?        
  • What issue do they have?        
  • What is your product or service solve the problem for them?        


It's not the most current however for artists, it's hard to beat the concept Kevin Kelly wrote about in his book, "1000 true fans. "


Instead of selling millions of products, you should focus on the thousand genuine fans. Create a successful business around these fans. It's an excellent guideline for a creator-based, B2C service.


If you're targeting 1,000 or millions, you need a clear understanding of the people they're prior to launching your service or product that can add value to them.


2. Revenue from day one


One of the key things to be successful in bootstrapping will have to be fast revenue. That doesn't have to be true in all cases however the longer it takes you to achieve revenue, the longer time you'll be working as an author.


Consider ways to increase revenue speedily. A method we've seen that works really well in various community and course businesses is to pre-sell. It can help to generate revenue before you even build an item, and could be the best way to validate an idea.


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MVP


When you're playing sports like baseball or football, MVP means something very distinct.


In the realm of business, MVP stands for a minimum-viable product. It's not difficult to become a perfectionist, focusing on ensuring that everything is perfect prior to releasing something to the public. Entrepreneurs and founders can take time to complete everything.


Enter... a minimum viable product.


The word was invented through Eric Reis, who developed the lean startup methods. Minimum-viable products are the simplest product that is possible to launch. Instead of worrying about making sure everything goes right, create a basic product to begin earning revenue.


In bootstrapped businesses, minimum feasible products are an important part of getting to revenue. If you're bootstrapping, then you're not in the position of creating everything flawlessly. Begin to earn some money while learning and adapting when you're ready.


4. One great funnel


There are many different ways to sell items. And established companies might create multi-tiered funnels which draw clients through advertising such as organic search, social media, word of mouth, and others.


If you're doing bootstrapping, it's often best to focus on one funnel. Focus on one thing which works.


For example, let's say you realize that advertising your webinar via Facebook does great. It brings you qualified leads.


Let's say you spend 200 dollars on advertising in order to acquire 40 qualified leads. Let's say 2-4 percent of them will buy - that's a pretty typical conversion rate.


It means that one or two people will purchase. Let's say two. If you pay $200 in order to acquire two customers, your price of acquisition per client will be therefore $100.


 

  • Cost per lead (200/40 = $5 per lead)        
  • Cost per acquisition ($200/2 = $100 per customer)        


It is necessary to earn $100 in revenue out of these two customers to break even.


Building a sales funnel is a tried and true method to start a company, and if you are able to get your numbers correct and you are able to be extremely profitable. Let's say that our funnel above led to people purchasing a monthly subscription for $50. The typical customer stays with the company for twelve months. The average lifetime value of one customer is $600.


It cost you $200 to get the two customers which is worth $1200 to your business.


Is that worth it?


If you're offering an online course with minimal overheads then this is a no-brainer. If your business is focused on products, with costs like staff, shipping and inventory. It is essential to do the math to see if these numbers make sense.


However, the best aspect of a funnel is that it can be quite solid. It takes time to develop your baseline numbers. At the end of the day, you'll be sure that if you spend 1,000 dollars into your marketing, you will get $6,000 out of it.


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5. Low overhead


This leads us to the next trick to bootstrapping with great success with low overhead.


Imagine you're opening an eatery. It would be ridiculously hard to bootstrap it. The equipment you'll need and inventory, place, permits, and probably staff. There are thousands of dollars before you earn even a dime.


However suppose you're offering the course in a group. If you decide to use a top platform (like Mighty! ) it will cost you an annual fee that would cover literally everything you need to run your business. You would get a great platform, the ability to brand it yourself as well as a point of sale.


The price of delivering that cohort course will be very low. And low overhead makes bootstrapping much simpler.


6. Recurring revenue


It's not an absolute must for every business, but it's something to think about. If you're bootstrapping the company, then recurring revenues are an enormous improvement.


Recurring revenue basically means that customers pay you each month. Your Netflix membership or gym membership creates regular revenue for these businesses.


Let's imagine you bootstrap a consulting business. It is possible to complete a task for a client and charge for the project. So far so good. But then, you have to find a new client.


The best thing about companies that generate recurring income is that you are able to maintain your customers. In the case of Mighty, for instance When we watch groups being created on Mighty, many of them keep their customers for years.


Certain businesses acquire customers, who then require new customers every month. But recurring revenue businesses get customers and maintain them, and increase the number of customers in their daily pool. If you have a relatively lower churn this is a fantastic option to begin to build a bootstrap.


7. Multiple offers for each ideal member


One of the true contradictions in business is that often your greatest customers are customers who already bought from your company. If someone has bought somethingfrom you and are satisfied with it and are happy with it, they're likely to purchase from you in the future.


However, a majority of business owners don't realize this. They say "Oh I've already sold to that particular person. "


They also miss one of their most important revenue sources: existing customers.


Figure out ways to offer your customers who are already there greater value. This is what we call"the value ladder. Chances are, some of your customers will want more from you.


sales funnels - value ladder


For example, let's say that you provide a community membership based on mastery of a career. You have 100 happy members in your community. It's much easier to give them something else than to look for 100 members.


How about a career mastermind or even a specific training course? Do you want one-on one coaching for a select few?


Offering offers to your existing customers is just intelligent.


8. Incorporate scale


Not least of all, the trick to successfully bootstrapping your enterprise is to put some of that money back towards growing. This could mean investing into advertising, or even improving your product. Perhaps you're hiring certain talents to make your life easier.


It's not just about getting some cash coming in every month. It's about bringing a company to profitability and a high-value and without the need to take investor money.


As you grow, take a look at the ways you can increase the impact of your business and increase revenue.


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Bootstrapping Checklist


 

  • Concentrate on the ideal client        
  • Revenue ASAP        
  • Create a minimum-viable product (or provide)        
  • Create one great funnel        
  • Keep your overhead low        
  • Aim for recurring revenue (if appropriate)        
  • Offer multiple deals to your clients        
  • Invest in scaling        


Are you ready to begin?





If you're ready to start the process of launching your company, build with Mighty! is a software platform that is cultural that brings together community and content, classes, and commerce. And our flexible Spaces let users mix discussions, live events, live streaming, member profiles Chat and messaging and more.


You can sell across 135 currencies, or even make money through token-gating. And we've got a great app that works on every device or we'll partner together to create an application that's white-label with Mighty Pro.


Many among our Mighty hosts have created companies with six to seven figures bootstrapping their way to fantastic annual profits. And businesses founded upon Mighty check all of the boxes above.


If you're looking to be in the right direction, check out our case studies and read how some of the most successful business owners have built on Mighty. If you're eager to get started, try it free for 14 days with without credit card needed.